[Review] Sarah Cross: Kill Me Softly

Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross

Series: Beau Rivage #1
English, Paperback, 331 pages
Debut: April 10, 2012
@ Goodreads
Genres: Dark / Violance / Angst, Fairy Tale, Paranormal Romance, Suspense, Young Adult
Overall Rating: four-half-stars

An edgy contemporary fairy-tale retelling perfect for fans of ABC's Once Upon a Time and NBC's Grimm.

When Mirabelle runs away from her godmothers to Beau Rivage, the city where she was born, she hopes to discover answers about her parents' tragic death. Instead, she finds a group of unusual teenagers, each with a fairy-tale curse. In this strange seaside city, scenarios from fairy tales are played out over and over, and Mira has her own part in the drama: she's a "Somnolent," doomed to prick her finger and fall into an enchanted sleep like Sleeping Beauty. The problem is she's not interested in the charming (but slightly boring) "prince" who is fated to be her romantic counterpart. Mira is much more attracted to suave, handsome Felix, who bears a curse he can't, or won't, explain to her.

Also available in hardcover (978-1-60684-323-9) and eBook (978-1-60684-324-6) formats.

Read First: January 12-16, 2015 | Snuck from: Amazon (bought)

Rogue Chronicles Entry No. 145

recommended by Sam @ Realm of Fiction

I cannot believe that this has been lying around unread here forever, looking pretty on my shelf. Yeah, looking pretty... that drew me to it. Just look at that cover! and I like the title very much, too. This was my first retelling, and I'm glad me and this genre are starting out on the right foot. Although I love my Disney movies, I'm also a fan of the dark and positively gory variety of fairy tales, and thank goodness Kill Me Softly didn't disappoint in that regard!

A town made up of families who are born or cursed into fairy tale destinies, every tale with a certain marque, is a great concept. The struggle of a destiny/curse vs what the characters want to do with their lives is always a good baseline for a YA paranormal read, but I liked that Mira wasn't something totally special but a character like the others, not destined to save them all. I also liked how there were so many characters, friends and frenemies, who knew how they were connected by fate, and how they joked about their curses. It was just a tiny bit morbid, perfect for the rather gruesome acts involved in some of the fairy tales.

As I am curious about how each curse would be treated in Beau Rivage, I loved all the characters, since they all have a story to tell, some of which I never heard of. Like Bluebird -- I didn't know this tale at all, thus I was double shocked to find it was the twist in Mira's story, as opposed to someone who might already know the tale. It was like a sucker punch... totally awesome! Let me tell you, if you don't know it already: it's very gruesome, and also very, very creepy. *shivers* That really kicked it up a notch with the excitement too, as the focus was more on the characters in the beginning. The whole story telling was like a water slide: first a few bumps here and there, slowly inching higher, and then your stomach is hollow when you plummet down and it get's messy in the front rows. Gotta love it!

Another plus: there is no happily ever after, at least not in the really pretty sense. There's still more that could happen, and bad things, but they caught a break, and there are some improvements -- like a new ship --, and they are together with their friends to weather any more oncoming storms. =) All that has me really looking forward to read Vivian's story!

Area Scan: Flow: 5/5 -- Vocab: 4/5 -- Plot: 4/5 -- Heroes: 5/5 -- Sidekicks: 3/5 -- Villains: 4/5 -- Romance: 3.5/5 -- Drama: 5/5 -- Action: 3.5/5 -- Suspense: 5/5 -- Idea: 5/5

Discovered: 4+ Hoods

5hoods

Challenge read for Hard Heart Reading Challenge 2015

Beau Rivage:
Kill Me Softly | Tear You Apart

four-half-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge